Manchester City Chases after Bayern

Manchester City won 17 consecutive matches in the history of Champions League, but there is still a long distance to go before create new record among Europe’s top five leagues.

The team of Pep Guardiola is the holder of consecutive winning in English top clubs. Many people are not surprise to the sequence – the coach of Catalan team spares his efforts to break his previous record created by himself at one former club. Let’s analysis the best runs of some top leagues, like La Liga, the Bundesliga, Serie A and Ligue 1.

Germany (19 matches)

Bayern Munich won the title of Bundesliga champions after the 19th match run ended with a 3-3 draw on Mar. 29, 2014. The German club giants is already the champion of Bundesliga champions. The title was assured on the former match day with a 3-1 win at Hertha Berlin. In the next month, the unbeaten legend was ended by the loss of the 54th Bundesliga games, which smashed the records in the semi-finals against Real Madrid while the win of DFB-Pokal in May brought some consolation to them.

Bayern Munich has walked the first step at Guardiola since he took the position of Jupp Heynckes, and inherited some advantages from the treble-side. Mario Mandzukic won 18 goals while he left the team in summer. Toni Kroos became a member of Real Madrid after Bayern Munich failed to sign a new contract with the midfielder. In the 2013-14 season, Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben performs very well on the wings, and Philipp Lahm took the role of a midfielder.

Inter Milan

For the relegation of AC Milan and Juventus, the team of Lazio and Fiorentina were deducted points for Calciopoli scandal. It’s a good news for Inter Milan in marching the 2006-07 Serie A title. After the 4-1 win over Livorno on Oct. 25, the derby win against AC Milan were won in the following three days, contributing Roberto Mancini's men in claiming a new record of 17 consecutive wins. The 17 straight wins was end by a 1-1 draw in a match against Udinese in February.

The result witness the declining of Inter Milan for short of competition against every team of Serie A in a row. For the postponement of their game against AS Roma, the team would won the title for 12 points off. Zlatan Ibrahimovic was the lead scorer in the runs by winning 10 goals at 10 matches. The Swede netted a goal once a time. In the end, Inter Milan became the winner of that season. In addition to Zlatan Ibrahimovic, there were many other footballers played with the team, including Patrick Vieira, Dejan Stankovic, Hernan Crespo, Luis Figo, Esteban Cambiasso, Javier Zanetti and Marco Materazzi.

Although having won Serie A, Inter Milan only reached the round of 16 in the Champion League. The team was defeated 7-4 on aggregate by AS Roma in the final of Coppa Italia. In view of that consequence, the first task of Inter is to build up the strength of the team in short time. Only in this way, the team can write a more splendid legend for themselves.